Mike Schmidt Memorial Iron Team Award

Award Title: Mike Schmidt Memorial Iron Team Award
Sponsored by: Schmidt Family, Marty Gordon, Rochester Institute of Technology
Awarded for: Perseverance, engineering excellence and competitive success as demonstrated by earning the highest cumulative point score at the three US/Canada Baja SAE events in a single competition season. The award is given in memory of Mike Schmidt - a founding member of the "resurrected" RIT Mini-Baja team. Mike was extremely motivated by the Mini-Baja program at RIT and was a driving force behind RIT's first participation at all three North American Mini-Baja events in 1999. Mike's premature passing at age 21 in February 2001 was a great loss to RIT, Baja SAE and the general engineering community. It is hoped that this award will preserve the spirit of Mike Schmidt within all who participate in Baja SAE.
Award Classes: 1st Place
2nd Place
3rd Place
Award Criteria: The award is presented to the team that BOTH (1) competes in all three SAE sanctioned Baja SAE events in the US/Canada [previously known as East, Midwest, West] AND (2) has the highest normalized point total in all three events.
Award Procedure: The award is based on the cumulative point total in the three US/Canada events in a single competition season. If a school enters more than one vehicle in a competition the point total for the vehicle having the highest point total per event will be used. For example, if Car #1 earns 790 points and Car #2 earns 850 points at Baja SAE Gearville -- the points from Car #2 will be used to calculate the total points for the award. If at Baja SAE Motoland Car #1 earns 900 points and Car #2 earns 500 points - the points from Car #1 will be used to calculate the total points for the award. Simply put, the higher scoring cars points at each event will be used. If the maximum point score that can be earned at a competition is other than 1000, then each teams earned points will be normalized on a basis of 1000 points.
Award Presentation: The award will be presented by a sponsor or a representative of the sponsors at the final US/Canada Baja SAE event of the season. This award is typically presented just prior to the overall event award.
Previous Winners: 2001 - Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) [1st], UCF [2nd], NC A&T[3rd]
2002 - RIT, Michigan Tech., Georgia Tech.
2003 - University Michigan - Dearborn, RIT, University of South Florida (USF)
2004 - USF, RIT, Queen's University
2005 - ETS, University Michigan - Ann Arbor, Auburn
2006 - Queen's University, USF, Michigan State University
2007 - USF, Queen's University, University Michigan - Ann Arbor
2008 - Queen's University, USF, Auburn
2009 - Michigan Tech, RIT, Tennessee Technological University (TTU)
2010 - Ecole De Technologie Superieure, University of Maryland - Baltimore County, Universite Laval
2011 - Universite Laval, Ecole De Technologie Superieure, Ohio Northern Univ
2012 - Oregon State University, Rochester Institute of Technology, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
2013 - University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Ecole de Technologie Superieure, Ohio Northern University
Sponsor Contact: Marty Gordon - RIT - 716-913-2912, megite@rit.edu